News Flash Home
The original item was published from 8/12/2020 1:18:29 PM to 10/2/2020 12:00:04 AM.

News Flash

Election News

Posted on: August 12, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Changes at the Peoria County Board of Election Commissioners

The Chief Judge of the Tenth Judicial Circuit is the appointing authority for the five commissioners serving on the Peoria County Board of Election Commissioners (PCBEC), which was formed in 2015, as a result of a county wide referendum in which voters approved of creating a more efficient and economical manner of conducting elections throughout Peoria County. The result of the referendum merged functions previously performed by the City of Peoria Election Commission and the Peoria County Clerk.

The Chief Judge’s office wishes to announce the following changes to the PCBEC, effective August 11, 2020.

1) LaColis Reed’s term as commissioner expired August 11th. LaColis has a long history of public service to Peoria. He is a charter commissioner and initial Chairman of the PCBEC and before that, served on the City of Peoria Board of Election Commissioners from 2006 to 2015.LaColis has enthusiastically embraced his role in the oversight of fair elections in the City and County of Peoria. His selfless display of high ideals to the mission of the PCBEC has served the citizens of Peoria well. He will be missed.

2) Arun Pinto, M.D., a well-regarded local board-certified psychiatrist has been chosen by the Chief Judge to fill the vacancy created by LaColis Reed’s departure. Dr. Pinto has a history of public service over and above his medical practice, including, but not limited to, work at the Children’s Home, Pediatric Resource Center, Human Service Center and Library Board. He will be an excellent addition to the PCBEC and will continue the reputation of the good work performed by the Commission and its professional staff.

Other commissioners currently serving on the PCBEC are Matt Bartolo, Mark Ketterer, Sandra Burke and James Manning.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Election News