News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/10/2022 9:31:25 AM to 4/11/2022 12:00:01 AM.

News Flash

Home News

Posted on: February 10, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Peoria County Election Commission Website Changed to .gov Domain

Peoria County and the Peoria County Election Commission have changed their respective websites to .gov domains effective today, Thursday, February 10. Peoria County’s former web address,, is now, and the Peoria County Election Commission’s former website,, is now Email addresses and other County-owned websites will not be affected at this time. 

Residents are advised to update browser bookmarks, though both .org websites will redirect visitors to the new .gov addresses for the foreseeable future. 

“The .gov domain is the most secure domain available, as it is only obtainable by government entities that undertake a thorough vetting process,” said Thomas Bride, Peoria County Election Commission Director. “We welcome the change, as it adds another layer of security to the Election Commission.” 

“Website visitors can be sure they are visiting a legitimate and secure website when it uses the .gov domain,” Peoria County Administrator Scott Sorrel added. “In an age where parody and deceptive websites abound, we want to do everything we can to assure our website users that they are interacting with a true government website.”

In addition, as a local election authority, the Peoria County Election Commission is required under State of Illinois Election Code (10 ILCS 5/1-18) to implement the use of a .gov domain by June 16, 2022. 

Again, website users should see no noticeable impact with the change, as the content on the websites remains the same. Users who put in either .org address will be automatically routed to the .gov addresses. 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home News

News Carousel Image 1

Election Results Interactive Map

Posted on: December 1, 2021
News Carousel Image 4

Find Your Elected Official

Posted on: December 1, 2021
News Carousel Image 3

Downloadable Maps

Posted on: December 1, 2021